Multiple Rachio Controllers with Shared Command and Master Valve

I have about 26 zones so I need 2 controllers. I will have a shared common between the controllers because I don’t want to spend hours/days re-wiring boxes to isolate the commons. Finally, I have a master valve to add a little more in the mix :slight_smile:

I saw the Rachio article on using the Isolator devices, but that would cost me over $100. For $10 I think I can do the same: KUP-14A15-24 relay and base.

Please see the wiring diagram and let me know if you think I’m crazy.

Thanks!

Jeff

IANAE (I am not an electrician) but I slept at Holiday Inn Express last night! (joking)

To my untrained eye, the logic flows correctly and this will limit so that only one valve can be open at a time. I give it a thumbs up.

1 Like

@janderson - what about the situation where both controllers are running at the same time? I think that the common would be returning through Controller A for valves from Controller B.

I’d also make sure the power supplies for both controllers are coming from the same electrical phase so the sine waves won’t be out of sync (e.g. same outlet with a multiple tap) with each other.

2 Likes

I can be of no assistance other than saying I personally love the above diagram including screenshots of our generation 1 controller :wink:

:cheers:

1 Like

What you have against the Gen1’s @franz?!?!? :rofl::joy: #OGGen1

2 Likes

@janderson, I see no problem with your plan (as long as your properly schedule your controllers to never be active at the same time), good job. My only feedback is that you could accomplish a similar setup using a single SPDT relay, more on this can be found in an old post (link). Only difference is that you would use R1 terminal on your Gen 1 controller, instead of SC terminal shown on the original wire diagram.