Wiring from a Hunter Pro with new rain sensor to Rachio 3

Want to purchase a Rachio 3 and install it myself - I have included a pic of my current Hunter Pro with newer rain sensor - is it possible to use the Rachio 3, still use the rain sensor and if so, what would be the wiring configuration I would use…many thanks for the help

@denpo , do you have a master valve? If so, might need a little more info on that. Other than that you can use the rain sensor w/ the Rachio 3. The two yellow wires would go to 24vac one in each and one of the sensor wires would go in Sen on Rachio the other would go to -24vac. image in this pic your yellow=red and your white and blue=yellow and white.
The rest of the controller should go to the corresponding C, M, and Station #s

how would I know if I have a master valve? Where would I check ?

@denpo - based on the wiring in the Hunter Pro there is either a pump start relay for use with a well or a master valve (see the terminal with the P/MV marking). If one doesn’t have a pump, then by elimination it is a master valve.

A master valve is just like every other valve in the irrigation system, however this valve is before all the other valves. The use of a master valve helps prevent water leaks from a leaky valve or broken line.

I don’t think there is a need for additional information, one will just need to enable the master valve option in the Rachio app. And the wiring is just like @gaustin mentioned. You should be good to go and a Rachio can replace the Hunter Pro.

1 Like

Thanks… Do not have a well so it must be a master valve… so where does the black MV wire go in the Rachio… in the M slot?

And what about the green and white “com” wires?

@denpo - Yep, the black wire in the Hunter P/MV terminal goes to the M terminal in the Rachio and the green and white COM wires can each have there very own C terminal in the Rachio.

2 Likes