Rachio settings are a hot mess. Go to Apple UI school!

For a few years now I’ve begged the company, and its founder, for god’s sake why have you made adding or reducing water to a zone so damn difficult.

JUST PUT A + OR - BUTTON ON EACH ZONE TO ADD OR REDUCE WATER.

Yes I understand that’s not the “right” way to do it, it depends on plant and soil type etc. etc. but WHO CARES-- Adjusting those paramaters is too complex for more users and often does NOT give you expected outcome. I’m an advanced engineer and still can’t get what I want out of Rachio. Almost ready to go back to a dumb Rainbird where I never had plants dying of over and under watering constantly.

5 Likes

The UI has always felt like it was designed by the devs focused on making the smarts of the product and not by someone focused on a positive and intuitive user experience.

I’ve been on that side myself. Only after getting a UI team involved did I realize how poor my UI design choices were even though they were “correct” from a tech viewpoint. It’s a hard :pill: to swallow. :slightly_smiling_face:

2 Likes

It’s great to have access to all the underlying irrigation factors. Definitely leave them in. But for vast majority of users who don’t/can’t get into minutiae, allow the simple UI to do the most BASIC function of all irrigation systems-- + and - to watering time. (!)

2 Likes

Adjusting the amount of water applied per watering could be as simple as changing the setting for how much the sprinkler heads put out.
Most of my zones are set to the default for rotary heads… 1” water per hour.
If I want more water on a zone, I can change the setting to 0.75” water per hour.
Doing so would have the system spend more time watering that zone.

1 Like

Yes there are many ways to accomplish/hack this outcome via the crazy complex settings. My point is to make it simple.

Make it Rainbird simple for those who simply can’t/won’t/don’t want to get headaches over this.