Rachio 3 vs Garage Door

Has anyone else seen anything like this? My Rachio 3 disconnects from WiFi almost every time I open/close my garage door. Nothing else else (Ring, iPhone, iPad, etc.) seems to have an issue when operating my garage door. Here’s a video: https://youtu.be/zbQ9G3DAEPw

How crazy @greybeard!

I found something similar on a different forum… https://forums.anandtech.com/threads/garage-door-opener-interference-from-5ghz-device.2307462/

I am not an expert in Wi-Fi, so I am not following their conversation on exactly what is going wrong. However, some of the recommendations involved moving one of the devices, or even tin foil. Do you know if you connected your Rachio to your 5gHz band? If so, I wonder if switching it to the 2.4 would solve the issue?

McKynzee :rachio:

1 Like

I would do like @mckynzee is suggesting as long as you are within range of the second band on your wifi.

Your Rachio has become a victim of the Fractional Bandwidth Factor.

On one side of the coin, Rachio has proven itself as complying with FCC Sub part 15. On the otherside
the coin, your Genie garage door opener has failed one part of it’s FCC test yet proved itself against the fractional bandwidth factor.

The Rachio operates on 2.4 or 5Hz (operation) but is still subject to interference just like any other device that complies with FCC 15.

In the past, this could be overcome by changing the dip switches in your garage door opener but now they have changed to rolling code technology. You can still change it but it will just come back like a hungry stray dog looking for more food.

1 Like

Wow, that’s annoying! And alarming!