Rachio 3 - iPhone 13 Pro IOS 16.2 - won't connect

I had my Rachio 3 installed this past weekend and tried to connect it to the app. This is apparently an ongoing, long-term issue with the Rachio app based on several other posts over the past several years - since at least 2018, and it’s now 4/4/2023. Why is this issue persisting? Why has Rachio not fully resolved this connection issue? Two of us tried repeatedly to set it up on our different iPhones (I don’t remember what version she had - I think iPhone 11) and neither could get it to connect. I can see the Rachio network under WiFi on my phone, but cannot get the Rachio to join my network. I have a LOT of experience with home automation set up. I have multiple light switches, multiple door locks, a security camera, a doorbell camera, a Litter Robot, and two robot vacuums all set up to the internet via apps and none have been problematic to connect to the internet. Rachio needs to FIX this problem. We should not have to force-add the Rachio to our network using a wifi-enabled computer. I have not tried this option yet as I normally use a hard-wired desktop at home, but I will have to get out my laptop and see if I can get it to work that way. But OMG, I should not have to do that!!! If there is a current fix beyond the force-add through the cURL commands, please someone tell me what it is! I have searched through multiple posts here but can’t seem to find a current one regarding this issue.

You should be able to get it to connect, but I’m a little unclear on some of the steps your taking, so I may be able to help a bit better with a couple more details.

You say here:

Two of us tried repeatedly to set it up on our different iPhones (I don’t remember what version she had - I think iPhone 11) and neither could get it to connect. I can see the Rachio network under WiFi on my phone, but cannot get the Rachio to join my network.

1. How are you trying to get it to connect?