Question Rachio and IFTTT email when internet down

I am using the recipe with IFTTT and Rachio to tell me if my internet goes down. Yesterday I had an internet issue and lost my internet for a brief time (NOT when Rachio was running a schedule). It was down about 5 minutes and after rebooting the router, all is well. I was expecting an email to tell me Rachio lost internet connection but never received an email. Does anyone know if that IFTTT recipe only works if a schedule is running or should it send an email any time Rachio loses internet connection? Much appreciated!

@RXman How does the IFTTT recipe know when your internet is down?

:cheers:

Hi Franz, Truthfully I’m new to IFTTT. I went to their website and under Rachio Recipes it has one that state “If offline Rachio, then send email” Its shows 211 adds, so I thought it was popular. I thought somehow if my Rachio Gen 2 was offline, it would pick that up somehow and send an email. Now I’m even wondering if it means if Rachio servers are offline then I’ll get an email. Very confusing. If your not familiar with that recipe, maybe its better for me to be safe and delete it.

@RXman Interesting, I honestly don’t know what that recipe does :wink:

If the controller is offline for at least 24 hours we send an official Rachio email if that gives you any better piece of mind.

Also, if you go into the app settings you can enable/disable receiving a push notification if the status of the device changes.

My in-laws have issue with a GFCI that is connected to a number of things in their garage and basement. When I had the Rachio Gen 1 plugged into one of the outlets on that circuit I would receive an IFTTT notification that their Iro was offline cause their Verizon FIOS was also plugged in on the same circuit and would drop the internet.
I have this recipe setup: If device offline event registered, then send a notification

1 Like