Pipe diameter

I know there are a lot of variables that go in to this but I am new to this and wondering if there is hopefully an easy answer. I purchased an old home that has an existing irrigation system that pumps water from the lake. The pump is shot and the piping is old copper (I think) that is no good either, so I’m replacing the whole thing. I bought a new pump - I just got the same one that my neighbors use because they all have the same one and I figure it’s for a reason. The outlet from the pump is 1 1/2" but I’m seeing the majority of sprinkler valves are 1". I’ve asked on reddit where is the best place to reduce the pipe and got reamed (for not having a “professional” design). The old pipe is 1" and my neighbor swears the piping near his sprinkler heads is only 3/4" (again, he has the 1 1/2" pipe coming off his pump) so I feel confident reducing to 1" is ok. Long-story-short, does it matter where I reduce the diameter (i.e. closer to the pump or closer to the valve)? Or, should I buy the 1 1/2" valves and reduce to 1" after the valve (although I hope that’s not the case because it seems those are not as readily available and much more expensive)? Thanks!

I assume you have multiple sprinklers off the same loop of pipe. Therefore, you need as much water in the pipework as needed for the combined output of all of the sprinkler heads. But you need more, to have good pressure.

So I would have thought that the best solution is a 1 1/2" backbone, with whatever sprinklers off this.

If you introduce a 1" anywhere on this backbone, you will restrict the flow to that.

Think about the sprinkler furthest away from the pump if it’s a long line. You need the water to get all the way to the end, while all other sprinklers before it gets the water they need.

1 Like

So would you go with 1 1/2” valves? They just seem less available (and more expensive) so common sense just makes it seem they’re not used as much?