Nozzle inches per hour in advanced features

Why does rachio 3 default to 1 inch per hour? I asked my irrigation company and he was not sure but estimated 0.33 inches . I’m a newbie to all this but that seems like a large difference. I moved into this house 2 years ago and do not have info on sprinkler heads. It is a hunter sprinkler system likely installed in 1998 when house was built 7 zones 4 rotor heads per zones vast majority are 360 degree or ~180 degree rotation I would estimate 20 foot stream.

We tried to use industry best estimates. .33 inches seems pretty low.

One way to determine is by doing a catch cup test.

https://support.rachio.com/hc/en-us/articles/115010542208-How-do-I-perform-a-catch-cup-test-

This calculator will help derive the results and determine zone efficiency.

http://wateringschedule.com/get-started/#/stations

i was able to find a part number on the top of my sprinkler heads and look up much more info on it. go take a look

I am new to Rachio as well as to the community. I am trying to figure out some of the parameters after my Rachio controller was installed. I live in Connecticut. I feel that this “Nozzle Inches Per Hour” should be dependent on 4 parameters: 1) how big is the area of the zone, 2) how many sprinkler heads are covering the zone, 3) what is the output of inches/hour for each of the sprinkler head, 4) the size of the area is each sprinkler head measured when measuring the output. Otherwise, there is no way to correctly calibrate the correct amount of time needed to cover the zone. Am I missing something?

I believe the easiest way to get inches per hour is through a catch cup test.

And this has a calculator for your results

https://wateringschedule.com/instructions/

:cheers:

John,

I 100% agree. that makes a ton more sense than the catch cups. I have tried catch cups a few times and sometimes they fall over, and sometimes they are in an odd place etc. I just don’t trust it.

This would be SOOO much better if it was