Newbie - Schedule Types

Hey everybody! I’m new to Rachio and trying to figure out the how the flex daily/monthly and fixed schedules work. First, I’ll give details for my yard and how I set up each zone.

I’m in Coppell, Tx with Sandy Loam soil per the Web Soil Survey website. My available water is .14 and I assumed 5" root depth for my St. Augustine Grass and 4" root depth for my shrub zones. I’m using the smart cycle, giving the app to water on any day, having the system finish before sunrise, pretty much everything the app recommended I should do.

Doing some research and from what the Rachio App tells me the best way to conserve water is to use the daily flex schedule but that isn’t the case by a significant amount. I put together a spreadsheet that breaks down how often each zone is run and takes a average daily usage of a 20 day span. I did this for flex daily, flex monthly and fixed (3 days a week). Here’s what I came up with.

Flex Daily:
Waters heavily over the first 14 days, usually different zones each day. There is a 5 day stretch where pretty much every zone is watered for 3 straight days. After the first 14 days it starts to water every other or every third day. Can’t say that is consistent as the schedule doesn’t go past 20 days. The total time over this 20 day span is 1177 minutes at an average daily use of 59 minutes. Zone watering times range from 12-25 min.

Flex Monthly:
Summer showed up a little early this year so it starts off as every third day then goes to every other day until September. The total time over this 20 day span is 918 minutes at an average daily use of 46 minutes. Zone watering times range from 9-20 min.

Fixed Schedule: