Newb here with installation troubles

Good evening everyone.

Thank you for letting me join the community here. I am new to the sprinkler wifi system and recently purchased a Rachio 3!

I have installed the Rachio but I cannot turn on my zones or make my water come on. I have attached some pictures of my old system wiring and new system wiring for everyone’s viewing. I only have zone wiring from my old unit apart from three wires from my old power adapter. Do I need to wire up my old power adapter to? I though the new adapter which we plug in would nul and void those wires. Please any suggestions would be awesome!

You are correct, you do not hook up the power from the old controller to Rachio as you will only use the Rachio supplied power adapter. The thing that I see missing on both your old and new controller is the Common wire. I notice the purple wire is stripped, but not connected. Could that be the common? Are any other wires not connected, like maybe a gray wire (does not look like it is stripped)?

I stripped the gray and tried that, which it didn’t work. I’ll try the purple and see if that works. Should there always be a common wire? I even striped back the black plastic to see if any were hiding down there but there wasn’t.

Purple also didn’t work.

A common is required. Usually, it seems to be white or maybe less common green. Do you know where all your valves are? Are they all in valve boxes? If you go to the first box that the wires go to, you should see a single wire from the bundle going to one wire on each valve. The other wire on the valve should be all tied together to another color wire, which is the common. If needed, you can post a picture of each box.

How was my old system able to work perfectly of this so the case. Is a common wire needed for the Rachio but not for other systems?