New Sod - Need Help Optimizing Schedule

Hi Team/Community - I’m new to the Rachio and I could use some help in understanding the best watering schedule for my brand new sod that was laid on the 15th. (Celebration Bermuda in Austin Texas)

My sod installer suggested - 30 Minutes per day, every day for 3 weeks until the sod takes.

I noticed that within the zone settings there were all of these different settings for available water? root depth? allowed depletion? efficiency? and i’m not 100% sure what to have all of these settings on. The folks who installed my sprinkler didn’t really set up each specific setting when it was installed because i didn’t really have any grass (old stuff died because I wasn’t diligent about watering it)

Can you help me optimize these specific things to ensure my lawn grows strong?

Thank you!!

-Chris

For now I would not worry about those settings.

Set up a fixed schedule to get the roots established.

Celebration huh? I want so,e pictures in June. I hear that Bermuda has a very slow rate of growth.

2 Likes

If you select warm season grass an your irrigation was installed by competent ppl those defaults should be good to go. If you want to understand what those mean, check back in, but if you just want to know what you should set them to, let them alone.

2 Likes

Yeah it was set to that so we’re good there. I’m excited about it too! Supposed to get a nice blue/green when it’s established and recommended for my area. Very drought tolerant.

I have a fixed schedule set at least for the next 3 weeks.

I would be interested in understanding what those settings are, at least for the future. Thank you for your help!

@Kisree, a Fixed schedule is perfect for your new sod. The advanced settings don’t need to be edited by most users unless they are using Flex schedules, which will be combined with Fixed schedules in our 2.5 app release. We’ll try to simplify the advanced settings in the future to be be easier to understand.

1 Like