New installation- replace indexing valves intermatic

Hello rachio community. Love the info here. Jist purchased the belownitems. Need some guidance please.

Rachio 3
Orbit pump start relay 57009
Individual valves - orbit manifold for 3 zones

I’m guessing to start with the pump start relay. I’m no electrician but pretty sure this seems simple enough. Not sure which wires go where on the pump start from the old pump. I dont think I currently have a pump start relay, correct? See pics.

im hoping @DLane or @Gene are able to help. thanks everyone. i think i may have 220v though as well.

You are right that your photos do not show a pump start relay (besides the new one you’ve bought). Do you have a photo of your old controller?

I also want to confirm that your pump is dedicated to irrigation (how do you get your drinking water?).

The new pump relay would likely go where your old controller went. What is shown on the second image is a breaker box, a disconnect in case system needs to be serviced. I do not know if it is located up stream or downstream of the old controller, but in any case removing an old controller will likely create a break in the chain which will either need to be bridged with a wirenut, or your new pump start relay.

1 Like

Thanks @Gene. This pump is just for irrigation. House still has a whole house well pump too, but not being used. Switched to city water. In the pics below, the middle box goes to the whole house pump (not being used). The far right box is the box going to the irrigation well pump.

The relay within your old controller is designed to run at 240V, so you were right to buy a new one. Good news is that you will likely be able to reuse the enclosure from your old controller.