Is it normal to water 40min straight for each zone?

Hi,
I am new to Rachio. with my old controller, I usually set each other day for 10min each time.
I tried the Flex daily with Rachio, and set the correct area size for each zone and soil type. and Rachio recommend me to water 40min each zone. Is that normal?

From the Flex daily calendar, I saw I only need to water 1-2 times a week.

Each zone I have around 300-500sft. and I have around 7-10 sprinklers in each zone.

Thanks so much!

10 minutes every other day sounds very low. Assuming you have a flow from your sprinkles totaling 1" per hour (I think that’s high, based on my experience), you’re only applying 1/6" of water every other day, or about 0.58" of water per week. I don’t know where you live, but I think it should be at least double that. And if it waters half as often, a time of 40 minutes doesn’t sound unreasonable.

OTOH, if your lawn has been fine with only 10 minutes every other day…

thanks! I think you are right…I am a new house owner, so I am not sure the correct time…now my grass is a bit yellowish…I will try more water then. just don’t want to waste too much water here in california…

You don’t want to water daily normally. You want to water a little longer and let the water soak into the ground allowing the grass roots to grow deeper down. That’ll make for a better lawn and use less water. Generally you want to have it water in the early morning so the water has a chance to soak into the ground, and not evaporate in the heat. You also don’t really want to water in the evening as that’s not good either. Your grass will get watered more when it’s Hot out, and water a lot less in the winter. My Rachio didn’t water my lawn once this last December. I’m north of S.F. Not like there is any Snow or rain every day. It’s temp, and now much moisture the Rachio thinks is in the ground and water else. My lawn sections normally get around 23 minutes each on the days my lawn is watered.