In a quandry

Hi! I have been using Flex Daily for several months now, and the yard is doing great! I have a strawberry tree in the backyard that has always struggled. The new leaves would burn, and the growth was very slow. This summer, the tree is shooting up, the leaves are green, lush, and full, and it has more flowers than I have ever seen! I’m seeing the same results with a ceanothus “Ray Hartman” in the front yard… more growth, lots of healthy leaves. Everything is doing great!

So what’s my problem? I think it’s using a LOT more water than I used to, based on my recent water bills. Which is probably accurate, since in the past I basically watered just enough to keep the lawn from dying, not enough for it to thrive. And now, the goveneror is asking for us to reduce our water use, and I am feeling a little guilty about using so much water to keep non-desert plants alive in a desert environment. So, should I keep the settings the way they currently are, or try cutting back the water a little? And if I wanted to cut back, what’s the easiest way?

Cut back on the lawn and garden areas to the point they just survive and water the trees separately?

This article has suggestions for tree watering: How, When, and Why To Water Trees Effectively

If you’ve mulched around the trees, you could even put soaker hoses on their own zone, under the mulch, to automate it.