Flex Monthly refuses to water

Hey Rachio SMEs,

I’ve been using Rachio for quite a few years now, but it constantly seems like Flex monthly is getting more and more and more and more conservative on watering each season. I’m at the point where Rachio wants to water for 6 minutes each zone (rotor heads) each day. With the droughts going on, and 90F+ back to back weather each day, my yard is becoming absolutely fried. I constantly find myself having to manually add runs each day, but Rachio seems to be adjusting for that and setting the zones to run even less and less time.

I’m not sure what I’m doing wrong, I’ve set all my zones to the proper heads, soil type, “lots of sun” for the zones that have no shade, and have now set the allowed depletion to 30%. Each of these changes seem to be making things worse rather than better.

I’ve gone as far as purchasing a PWS and leveraging that so the system knows exactly how much rain is hitting my yard and can calculate exact evapotranspiration rates.

I’m at a loss on what exactly to do here, any thoughts on how to make it so this thing waters for much longer durations?

Thank you!

A screenshot of the advanced settings might be helpful. What is your root depth? What did you change your Allowed Depletion from when you set it to 30%? With the correct heads and soil type, do you have the correct nozzle rate and available water?

Here’s what I have. Most of my other zones are the same except area. Depletion was at 50% on some zones and 45 on others.

I just noticed the 6 minutes is each day vs every other day now, but that seems like it would be worse than saturating the yard every other day.

A couple of thoughts:

Dropping the Allowed depletion down is going to cause your system to water more often, while still putting down the same amount of water per week – more water, less often is actually probably better for your lawn, so I’d put your allowed depletion back up.