Flex Daily First Watering more than two weeks later?

Hello community,

I’m a new homeowner so I have no experience watering a lawn. The previous owner has a Rachio installed and was watering on a fixed schedule three times daily which seemed excessive.

I wanted to use the flex daily scheduling, but the first time it’s scheduled to run is more than two weeks from today. Why is it so late?

Thank you!

Going to have to know a lot more about your setup to dive into it, but with the time of year, I don’t think that is too far off. Mine is pushing about 2 weeks between waterings, and we are still in the mid to upper 80’s right now.

That being said, if the previous owner was watering everyday, multiple times a day, the roots of your plants are likely very shallow, and will suffer if you leave the flex daily alone. We can do some tweaks with root depth and crop coefficient to force Rachio to water more frequently, and slowly build that root structure up to go deeper for water.

Can you post screenshots of your basic and advanced settings, along with a rundown of your equipment (drip emitter size, quantity per plant).

1 Like

Thanks @tmcgahey for the response! For some context, I live in the San Francisco Bay Area (East Side).

It seems that all of the advanced settings are the same. I’ll look around, but I don’t really know how to check equipment information… Really new to this.

Ok, first off…

With previous watering, no way your root depth is 9". I’d bump that up for each zone to 4" to start. This will cause it to water more frequently.

You have a couple different types of soil in your zones. A couple are set as clay, the other as loam. Did you follow the “Web Soil Survey” to find your soil type? It might be, but in would never guess the Bay area to be clay…

Donyou happen to know what type/brand of sprinkler nozzle you actually have? If you can take a close up picture, we might be able to tell.