Could Someone Give me Advice on Optimizing Rachio Controller for Diverse Climate Conditions?

Hello there,

I am new to the Rachio family and could really use some advice from more experienced users. I recently installed a Rachio 3 Smart Sprinkler Controller to manage my lawn and garden irrigation; and I am thrilled with its potential. Although; I am facing some challenges and would love to hear your insights.

I live in a region with highly variable climate conditions. Summers can be scorching hot and dry; while winters bring heavy rains. Additionally; my property has a mix of sun and shade areas; as well as different types of plants.

With these diverse conditions; I am finding it tricky to set up my Rachio system to meet all the needs of my landscape.

How reliable is the Weather Intelligence Plus feature in areas with rapidly changing weather? Are there any tips for fine-tuning it to improve accuracy? :thinking:

What are the best practices for configuring zones with varying sun exposure and plant types? Should I group similar areas together or create more zones with specific settings?

How do you manage seasonal changes? Do you rely on Rachio’s automatic adjustments, or do you prefer to tweak settings manually as the seasons change?

For those of you with vegetable gardens; how do you balance the watering needs of these plants with your lawn and ornamental plants? Any tips on creating an efficient schedule that conserves water but ensures healthy plants?

Also, I have gone through this post: https://community.rachio.com/t/accurately-configuring-rachio-advanced-settings-and-estimating-gallons-used-devops/ which definitely helped me out a lot.

I have been exploring the app and the various settings; but I am eager to hear from those of you who have hands on experience. Any advice; tips; or shared experiences would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance for your help and assistance. :innocent: