All stations stopped working

1. I weeded through all the posts, but they seem to be focused on controller not working (dead). I am confident my controller is working and wired properly.
  2. Noob here to the technicalities of the sprinkler world so be gentle.
  3. If there is a troubleshooting post already out there that can walk me through this, I would greatly appreciate the link and thank you in advance.

Had an older Rainbird ESP-Me panel, 6 zones. Eight years, no problems. All the stations stopped working last week - controller display is on, says it’s turning on the stations, etc. but the stations no longer work. All of them. I hoped this was a simple controller problem/death so I purchased the Rachio 3 and installed it. Confident wiring is exactly as stated and matching old unit. Set it all up and still nothing works.

So I assume, the problem is “in the ground.” OK, maybe obvious.
I also assume, again not knowing much about systems like these, that the problem would be somewhere between the controller and the first underground junction point? I picture the underground “stuff” to be linear (controller → underground junction 1 → underground junction 2 → underground junction 3). Given that everything is out, I assume the beginning of the line is where the problem is.

I know I have at least two junction points as I can find them. One on the side of my house, one on the back. I assume there is a third one, somewhere in the front near the garage where the controller is but I haven’t been able to locate it yet.

Any tips on how to proceed fixing this? Since they all went out at once, is there a likely culprit?

Again, any help/tips would be appreciated.

Thank you!

First, can you manually turn on the valves, at the valve, by turning the solenoid (or sometimes a bleed screw depending on valve manufacturer)? This would tell you that you have water to the zones…

If nothing turns on, find the water source and make sure the valve isn’t off.