Suggestions Please!

HI. I am a newbie to irrigation system, full newbie! I just got a house with a big yard, about 14000 sf. Can anyone here help me design the layout for my yard if I load my house map?

I know I like to purchase Rachio because I have Wink automation at home and I like it. As for the sprinkler system I am looking into Rainbird (as I don’t know other famous brands).

Please let me know if I can get help here. Thanks.

Hey @chefdimo, great to hear from you.

There may be others on the forum who can give you some advice, but these are some good resources to help you think about designing your yard:

http://www.sprinklerwarehouse.com/FREE-Sprinkler-System-Design-Installation-Guide-s/9293.htm
http://www.rainbird.com/homeowner/design/index.htm

Hope that helps!

Thank you for your reply. Is it easy to connect 2 Rainbird32ETI to the Rachio?

The Rainbird 32 eti is a very small 1 zone system that you cannot connect to the Rachio without at least adding a valve for the clock to control. My property is about the same size as yours and having minimum coverage I have 9 zones (half of my back yard is woods and I only water a few plants there). I don’t think you will find an easy to install system in a box for your size property and would suggest having a professional install the system for you. Make sure to request they install a Rachio for you.

1 Like

Thanks for all your help and info.

Munch, I have attached a sketch of the yard. I have lots of newly planted trees (as shown in circles) that I like to have automatic irrigation to. The rest is grass. Do you still thin I can’t put some of the rainbird self installed in 3 zones for the trees?

Thanks
btw, I am having a prof looking at the project next week for a quotation, But I like to learn to do it myself.