Soil TYPE help?

I’m a certified Rachio PRO. I admin 10x units and add more every week. I would like help determining soil type without having to test the soil or send it out. I found the https://websoilsurvey.sc.egov.usda.gov/App/WebSoilSurvey.aspx page and entered my address. It says I have “lauderhill soil” which per this link is basically a layer of MUCK that sits on top of limestone.
https://soilseries.sc.egov.usda.gov/OSD_Docs/L/LAUDERHILL.html Lucky me! This soil type has a tendency to “pond” water as it is poorly drained. But I cannot decide which Rachio soil type MUCK soil most closely conforms to. Sand, loamy sand, sandy loam, clay loam, silty clay, clay. My gut instincts say to choose sand or loamy sand because past the top layer or soil its all limestone. But a little guidance would be appreciated. You can use 2450 Greenbrier Court 33327 as the address if you want to lookup.

Hey @Mmrogge,

My team and I did a bunch of research to try and get you an answer! What we found was a soil type that is very similar to Lauderhill and in the same region. That soil type identifies closest with sand, so we suggest choosing sand but keeping an eye on it to see how your watering behaves!

Hope this helps :slight_smile:
Lo

Doesn’t it depend on which layer the roots are in? It they are in muck which sounds like saturated clay, setting for sand may adversely affect the roots because the soil is clay until the water gets below the roots to the sand.

@tcremer

Normally yes, but with limestone being the base layer, roots can’t get through it which makes the muck the base layer - if that makes sense.

I will give a disclaimer though - I am not a soil professional (maybe someday :slight_smile: ), this was purely based on a deep dive in Google, so if there’s something I missed, please feel free to let us know!