Unreliable valve wiring... Best way to make connections?

So I have an old sprinkler system that I’ve been maintaining for the past several years. I’ve noticed that my zones are sometimes very unreliable with popping up, and have started looking at the wiring.

Now I’ve found that one of the COM splices was loose or making a bad connection, as if I’d lift up on the wire, the currently running valve would come on. I was trying to replace the twist on connectors that were there with these:

But I’m not sure if they’re making good connection… The solenoids have a much thicker stranded wire (14 gauge?) compared to the (18 gauge?) sprinkler wire, and I’m not sure if these connectors are the right thing to use with mixed wire gauges.

Using these toro solenoids (89-0114):

Wife put down some week killer in the yard, so I wasn’t able to test after making each connection, but right now it seems like most zones are not working. And once the wires are in these connectors, there’s nothing exposed to test with multimeter :frowning:

Any suggestions?

I personally have always used the waterproof wire nuts with no issues, so I can’t speak for the ones you are using. I’d say that they are a very cheap and easy option to rule out the connection…

Otherwise, can you see any cuts or chaffing on the wiring inside the box area?

1 Like

Use something like this for your connections.

1 Like

@talz13 - what @ronjonp suggested or I’ve used and recommended these:

https://www.homedepot.com/p/DryConn-Small-Waterproof-Wire-Connectors-Aqua-Orange-20-Pack-62114/202889871

There is also an equivalent at Lowe’s if they’re closer to you.

An on the multimeter test - do the round trip at the Rachio by taking the wires out of the terminal and testing each zone with one lead and the common on the other lead.

@DLane those are actually what I had put on a couple years ago, and one of the ones I was having trouble with.