Switching To Rachio from T8845PV

Hello there!
I bought my 1st Gen Rachio over a year ago but have not yet managed to set it up. If it wasn’t my lack of sprinkler knowledge, it was lack of electrical knowledge, time, etc. The bottom line is, it’s been sitting g here unused and I’ve finally said “enough”. This is the only thing in my house that needs automating and has not been automated…I need help to get it done and I’m hoping you guys can help me.

I’m not a sprinkler pro but, as far as I can tell, I have 4 zones BUT, the 4 zones are not controlled or triggered by any controller, rather a valve set up somewhere else. At first, I was told that meant I had to redo my sprinkler system which is the main reason this sat in my garage for a while…debating whether or not I’d spend the $500 I was quoted to change things up to have individual zone control but, I had a thought.

If the zones are being switched elsewhere…I can just set the Rachio up with 1 zone and have it run that zone 4 times with a minute in between each. That gets a zone on, then off, then flips the system back on switching to the next zone. As far as Rachio knows, it’s 1 zone…but I’m ok with that since I always water the whole yard, never skipping a zone.

If this seems ignorant, please share why…remember, I’m not very knowledgeable with sprinklers. But, if this seems to make sense, below is a pic of my current wiring. I’ve tried a few combinations and I’m not able to get the sprinklers on with Rachio. I’ve been through a few posts here and with a pic or 2 you guys seem to work magic.

Can someone suggest which cables should go where when connected to the Rachio?

Thanks!

@Triplethreat117 - That looks like a timer that controls 120 VAC to a pump somewhere. The multiple fins in the top left corner that partially show up are the timings for the zone. My guess is that there is an indexing valve in the system and it moves every time the pump is turned off.