Solenoids not turning off

Hi all. I’m new to Rachio, and just finished installing my irrigation system. I’ve got four zones, all hooked up to a PresFlo pressureswitch, which turns my Pedrollo Plurijet on when pressure after the PresFlo drops (due to opening of the solenoids).

My 4 valves consist of 2 RainBird XCZ-100 and 2 RainBird 100-HV solenoids (all AC). When I switch on a zone everything works snappy and flawless, either through wifi or manually at the controller. When I switch the zone off, it just keeps going. The app confims it stopped the zone, and when manually stopping the zone the corresponding light stops blinking. However, the water keeps flowing.

My first thought was that the diapraghm probably wouldn’t drop, so I manually stopped the pump. After restart, it kept going. The solenoids where turning pretty warm. Only after pulling the plug from the Rachio (2nd gen) the valves would close.

Any thoughts on why this happens?

(I’m in the Netherlands, so I’ m not on the original adapter but a 220v-version (24v, 1 amp, DC) - I do have access to another generic 24v-adapter, so I will test wether this would make a difference)

Alas DC adapters are not compatible with Rachio, you will need to find a 24V AC adapter. Is your other adapter AC or DC?

Gene

I just came vack to my topic to tell myself what you just told - never knew those adapters come in AC as well! Usually in- and outside are used for specific polarity.

Found the answer in an old topic from 2015, some 220v-guy with the same problem. Glad to have found the issue! The other adapter is DC as well, so I’ll have to buy a new one…

1 Like

What is a Presflo pressure switch and the other device you mention? If you are using DC latching solenoid, Rain Bird is not compatible. I am surprised it is sold in your country. Are irrigation systems popular in The Netherlands?