Smart Cycle and 'deep watering' theory

(i’m new to lawns, rachio, and homeownership. hi!)
i have loamy/clay soil. most of the community suggests deep watering is best for a lawn to grow deep roots… any suggestions on watering frequency (every 2 days? 3 days?)

i’m going to measure how long my system takes to reach 1/2" water and aim for 1" a week - but once i do, so i want to break up each zone for better absorption with ‘smart cycle?’

Thanks!

1 Like

Welcome to the community! Members here are very helpful and the Rachio knowledge base is well-done and a great place to start.

Post a bit more information such as turf type and general climate and there’s likely someone who will jump in to answer questions.

2 Likes

Hey @thereisners!

First of all, welcome to Team Rachio!

We do encourage users to do deeper and less frequent waterings, as this promotes a healthier and more drought resistant landscape! However, we have a couple different options in getting there.

Option one would be to jump into our Flex scheduling. Flex requires a bit of investigation and work to tune in at first, but we have large group of users here that have been really successful with it, and it is the best way to acheive deep and infrequent waterings. Flex works off this idea that each of your zones has a “gas tank”, which we track so we only water when you gas tank has hit a certain level. However, there are some important things to note with flex. First of all, like I mentioned, it takes a bit of work in the beginning. Second, be prepared for much longer waterings than you are were used to in the past. They will be much less frequent, but often that initial duration can scare people off! And third, there is less consistency with flex. Zones will only run when needed, so a different group of zones can run on any allowed day. This is a deal breaker for some users.