Reconciling meter reading vs Gen 2 consumption

Newbie here… I just installed a Gen 2 16-zone unit to control my 12-zone system and did a quick audit of the consumption. Currently, we have a Mon/Wed/Sat directive. Before and after the Wed watering, I captured the meter readings and compared the consumption: Rachio weighed in a 497 gals in 75 min; the meter weighed in at 1621gals during that same period.

Several years ago, I did another test on individual zones and I have the #gals/min for each of the 12 zones. There appear to be a number of knobs to turn within the setup to affect the Rachio calculated value. I see where I should change several zones “flat vs sloped”, but wouldn’t that decrease the watering duration and decrease both the calculated and the actual?

What is the best knob to turn at this time to get the Gen 2 and the water meter to read about the same?

Thanks.
Rick

2 Likes

Hey @hamletrl!

Welcome to the community! There are two settings that affect usage- zone size and nozzle precipitation rate. Since you know the gallons per min, we are already a step ahead. What are the gpm values for each zone? Also, what are the sizes of these zones (approximations are fine!) Final question- how many heads are there per zone? With all of these variables, we can really nail that usage value down.

McKynzee

@hamletrl

@mckynzee is always right, here is a little more information.

:cheers:

1 Like

@franz and @mckynzee,

I appreciate the feedback… I did an audit of my 12-zone system yesterday and got a reasonably good count of the functioning heads, the square footage, Flow (gals/min) per zone, and back calculated the precipitation rate from the equation provided by @franz. Really high precipitation rates…

Now, I need to insert the appropriate numbers in the right places… need some guidance. Square footage is easy enough for me to figure out, but is the precipitation rate plugged into the “Available Water” field? Got another article for me?

Thanks.

Rick