One month with Rachio - Water usage underestimated?

Hi there

I have had Rachio Gen2 installed now since the end of July and i am seeing a huge discrepancy between what Rachio is reporting as usage and what my water company is saying. For the month of August, Rachio says 5,390 gallons whereas my water company says 29,000 gallons.

Now i am new to Irrigation systems and before moving here i lived in Scotland so …we never needed irrigation there!!

I am not at home just now but based on memory and my lot survey i reckon i have 25 rotor heads Rainbird 5004 with nozzle heads at 2.0 GPM flow rate

Looking at my zones i dont think they were configured correctly in terms of square footage at least. They were all set to the default 500 sq ft which is crazy wrong as i have 6 zones and 1 drip to cover a 10,000 sq ft yard. I have just this morning guesstimated and adjusted them but need to measure them out properly. Will this make a difference in water usage?

I am restricted to 3 days a week and i have been sticking to this for about 20min per zone. i recently reduced it down to 14 minutes but i am not even sure this is enough - or too much? - as i dont understand the Advanced settings a lot. Can someone have a look at my depletion, coefficient and efficiency settings.

Will a water flow sensor help? and if so which one is reccomended? I heard good things about the Toro ones.

We have had a bit of a problem with drainage on this lot as well as there are areas where the sun does not hit as much or the grading is not correct and as a result the ground is permanently soft and wet.

It is all Bermuda grass with a slope in the back yard and unfortunately we are at a cul-de-sac which means some of those rotor heads are inevitably hitting the road/sidewalk - no way around that sort of installing under sidewalk pipes which i am not prepared to do. It is clay soil and the sod is only 2 months old.