Master, Zone and Sub-Zones

Hi Rachios,

I’m new to Rachio, and to irrigation. My house did not include an underground irrigation system, and before investing in one I’m doing it all with above-ground valves and sprinklers, connected with garden hoses.

Please consider my desired setup in the following diagram: https://photos.app.goo.gl/UfDqUpHNQabvTeJq9 .

I purchased a Rachio Gen2 16 Zone controller, and have setup most of the system per the diagram, but then I hit a wall with my plan, realizing that I don’t know how to program the Rachio controller to operate zones 4 & 5: for zone 4 I would need to open valves M+3+4, and for zone 5 I would need to open valves M+3+5.
I could even do without the Master Valve if it helps, but it looks like the main issue is not with it, but with using valves 4,5 as sub-zones of zone 3, and making sure they open together.
I understand it could probably done with electronics, using voltage from both zones 4,5 to operate a relay to start zone 3, but it sounds like too much work to get something simple done, if the controller is flexible enough, or allows low-level control.
I’m a programmer, and I don’t mind even skipping the app and controlling the zones directly via API if that’s the best (or only) way to go. I could imagine getting an IFTTT even that zone 4 is opening, and react by programmatically opening zone 3 to feed it.

A seemingly easy solution could be to eliminate the valve for Zone 3, and connect it directly to the manifold. The reason I’m hesitating with it is that if I go this way, the garden hose P3 feeding manifold MF2 would be pressurized even when not needed, i.e. when operating Zone 1 & 2. I don’t know if it’s a bad idea or not; I generally prefer not to keep garden hoses under pressure, but maybe given the fact that either zones 1 or 2 would be open, maybe it’s not so bad.

Can you please share your recommendations for such a setup?

Thank you!
Ron

1 Like

Hi Ron.