How does the flow sensor work for Gen2?

I am new to flow sensors, and have ordered my upgrade to the Gen2 - anything to give the rachio more information about the water that is actually used is worth it to me. How does the flow sensor work - and where would it need to be placed to measure the flow? Right at the ingress into the house? How would it differentiate the flow created from the Rachio and other flows? And if it’s not at the ingress - I have valves all over the place, with multiple tie-in’s - so that wouldn’t work either.

Thanks for the information!

Matt

It must sit between the meter and you valves. The software is not out yet so that’s all we know for now

Most sprinkler installations have a single tap into the water line near the water main and branch out from there, typically with a master shutoff (manual) valve and a back flow preventer. The flow sensor would have to go at that location.

If your system is distributed (taps into multiple hose bibs for example), there would be no place to put a flow sensor.

Ok - in a master planned sort of situation that would have worked - my house is an older one and I basically have 3 sets of valves on different sides of the house. I guess no flow sensor for me!

I’m guessing this will be most useful in new systems. Not quite sure yet how to make it work in mine. I do have a single connection into the water main, but will have to do a good bit of trenching to wire it up.

@mathewbeall, great question. We’ll be adding more documentation once we can process the flow meter data, but in short, installing a flow sensor is a 4 step process:

1. Mount: Follow the instructions provided in the flow sensor’s manual to install the flow sensor at the desired location. (Example from CST) Each flow sensor comes with its own instructions for where the sensor should be installed and aligned. Usually, a formula for the placement of the sensor is used based upon the size of the pipe. An example mount/installation is below: