Emitter Troubleshooting Question

I have a single tree that has 3 emitters dripping (on) even though the system is completely turned off. Seems to me that they have been on for quite some time since the tree and areas there are sunken. Any thoughts as for how to troubleshoot this? I am not an irrigation expert but willing to poke my nose into this. Thanks!

If they are slowly dripping even though the zone isn’t running, then you have a valve diaphragm that needs to be replaced. Me personally, I just buy a whole new replacement valve of the same kind in my system and replace the diaphragm, top/bonnet, and solenoid. Only thing you haven’t replaced at that point is the valve body itself, which RARELY goes bad…

1 Like

Here are a couple pictures of what I have in the ground. Is this what you’re describing? Looks like I have 6 of these that twist on/off. Is there a way to figure out what “system” I have or manufacturer? Thanks for helping this newbie!

One more question: how would I know which one is the malfunctioning valve?

I found this video… Is this what you mean? Instead of cutting out the entire part and having to perform pvc pipe repair, just buy a whole replacement but use the guts to avoid the rest of the work. That is smart!

Yes! Looks like you’ve got a few different valves in your box. Going to have to do some investigating to see which valve operates the zone that is leaking. Turn on each zone manually by turning the solenoid about a 1/4 turn. Once you find the valve just replace the guts of it…

You’ll also have a little bit of clean out to do of that box. Need to get all the excess dirt out of there before you unscrew the tops of the valves.