Designing A Drip Irrigation System

I’m in the process of re-doing the plantings around my house and I’m looking into installing a drip irrigation system.

I’ve attached a sketch of what it’ll look like and am wondering how folks would zone things if it were theirs?

The large circles are trees, the medium ones are various shrubs and the smallest ones are various small flowers; the top of the sketch is west-facing

I have 6 zones free on my Iro and not quite sure how to best proceed. One sprinkler installer says that he’d zone it by proximity such that I might have 3 or 4 zones (south side, west side, north side, island)

Thoughts?

I’m no expert on this, in fact I still have a lot of questions myself using the zones for drip irrigation, but from experience, I can tell you that you really do not want to mix any annual flowers in with your trees or shrubs watering schedules. I have a mix of perennials and annuals in my drip zones, and I have to set the watering to my annuals needs or they wilt/die from lack of water. Because the roots are so much deeper on shrubs/trees, they do not need to be watered nearly as often as the flowers do.

In my case, I’ve had to take care of watering the annuals/perennials with the drip system and leave the shrubs that were put into my drip zones pretty much to what Mother Nature provides them. (Oh, and I’m being stubborn and trying to do this with Flex scheduling for my drip zones.)

Right now, I’m stuck with what I have. I would love to doing it fresh from the start like you!!!

I’m really interested in hearing what others have to say about designing yours!

Hi Linn

I don’t believe that we will have any annuals in our beds since we discussed not wanting to have to re-plant anything year by year…

Now, my soil is very sandy so I don’t know if that diminishes any needs to water trees less frequently; after all, if the water just drains, there won’t be any water down below for the deeper roots to go after, right?

Hi everyone