Connecting Hydro-Rain HRC-100 Wireless Rain Sensor to Gen3

@emil Any thoughts about wiring the Hydro Rain HRC-100 for the Gen 3? Mine’s throwing rain alerts every few seconds…

@Bobo1015

I had a similar issue with my wired sensor. I didn’t notice the 24 VAC + and - terminals that are now used in place of the common for sensors.

Can you post some wiring photos? Thanks.

:cheers:

Hi @franz! Here it is. Don’t laugh, I’m not an electrician… :rofl:

Looks like you just need to move the thin white cable connected to the ‘C’ terminal next to zone 8 to the 24 - terminal next to S2.

While making adjustments, I would also move the second common thick white wire from the leftmost C terminal to newly available C terminal next to zone 8. This way you have less chance of connector fatigue in a long term. Idea is to have just one thick white cable connected to each individual C terminal.

Cheers,
Gene

3 Likes

Why do I even try…

3 Likes

Got to be quick to keep up with @DLane and I :wink:

3 Likes

I need to stay in my lanes.

Wow! Worked like a charm!!! Thanks @Gene, @franz. Appreciate the help :-):heart_eyes:

4 Likes

@Gene and his wiring skills.

2 Likes

@franz is still the master of a unique answer :+1:

1 Like

@Bobo1015, would you happen to have a picture of your working sensor’s wiring? I have the exact same setup and cannot make it work based on @Gene’s recommendations.

Out of town for a few days, sorry…

Can you post a picture of your setup? It is not just any white wire that belongs in the 24- terminal, but the one that is part of white, yellow and 2 red cable bundle.

@Gene, please see below. It’s a simple 4-zone setup. The sensor is not connected in the picture.

And this is how it was wired to the original Controller:

@ProjektR - at the risk of trampling @Gene 's great work here is what I’d try:

1. Green - not connected
  2. Yellow - S1
  3. Red #1 24 VAC +
  4. Red #2 24 VAC - twisted together with the next wire