11 hour and 48 minute water schedule! Wow!

OK, so I have been using the Rachio for several months. I initially set it up when we were only allowed to water twice a week back in the spring and the first watering schedule was longer than I was used to, but seemed reasonable still, so I left it alone.

I did turn on water budgeting, and my watering times have been slowly creeping up and based on the last adjustment it was up to over 6 hours duration. Well, that seemed excessive, so I figured I would move to a three times a week schedule since that is allowed during the summer months.

Well, I deleted the old schedule, made some small updates to the soil type on my zones (from loamy sand to sandy loam based on that Geo Survey website I saw in another post here) and re-created a new watering schedule.

I discovered you can’t set the watering frequency before it calculates the watering times - so it ran a schedule for the every 3 day default and gave me that whopper of an almost 12 hour watering duration!! (I can’t see any smart cycle stuff going on - its turned on, but if that is what is causing the long duration it is invisible to me on the app)

I then set the watering frequency to every 2 days and none of the durations changed? So I manually turned the seasonal adjustment to like -70% to get my watering times down to something that seemed like it wouldn’t cost me a fortune in penalties from the water company since we are in tight drought restrictions here in CA. I also turned water budgeting off so it won’t creep up again.

I guess I hope the new software is more dynamic than the old one is. I want to be able to adjust the water frequency or change stuff in my zones and get a new watering duration based on what the Rachio recommends. Or maybe the new software will handle drought restrictions better than this one, IDK.